English Camp in Dream World

IMG_4841

                 Entrance to the park

Last week I was part of an English camp that the school I work for put together. That included a trip to Dream world. Dream world happens to be a theme park on the outskirts of Bangkok. I love theme parks. I was so excited.

First let me just say that Thai schools really know how to do field trips. First off, the buses are not regular buses. Oh no, they are essentially party buses. Double decker buses where most, if not all, the students sit on the top deck. The bus I happened to be seated in (I was on the top deck) had a T.V. where they showed music videos while Thai pop music blasted from that speakers. When I say blasted, I mean it really was loud. It was not easy to sustain a conversation. It wasn’t just Thai music, they would also play American pop music like Taylor Swift and Katy Perry songs. Mind you, this was an all boys field trip. I was sitting towards the front so I couldn’t really see what was happening in the

Party buses

                Party buses

back but I am sure there was some dancing involved as they students are allowed to roam around the bus freely. During our two hour bus ride we also got snacks. First a muffin then some kind of Thai food complete with sticky rice. No starving allowed. After two hours of music, food and a bus full of 13 year old boys, we finally arrived at Dream world.

We arrived before the park opened which meant we were going to have the ‘English camp’ just outside the park. There were 5 foreign teachers and each teacher had one activity to facilitate. In total there were about 150 students so the students were divided into 5 groups. Then each group was to go around and complete each activity. I did a game called ‘draw the teacher’ (I would say, ‘draw the teacher’s nose’, ‘draw the teacher’s hair’ and so on until they have a complete body). I think they liked it. Some were very literal and would stare at me to get the drawing just right, while others got creative and created creatures out of this world! This ‘English camp’ went on for no more than 45 minutes. So after all groups had completed all activities, it was time for lunch. They gave us Thai food and a bottle of water. It was delicious. During this time the Thai teachers distributed our tickets to enter the park along with other tickets we needed for special rides. Once we received our tickets we were free to go into the park on our own. Only condition? We had to meet back at 3:30 p.m.

A group of students in my section

A group of students in my section

I have to say, I was impressed with Dream world. As you walk in, you get a similar feeling to when you walk into Disneyland. Its kind of magical 🙂 Its colourful and bright and happy. I joined the other foreign teachers for most of our time in the park. It’s always way more enjoyable to be around people. We stopped for some some photo before our first ride.

ticket with all the rides

               ticket with all the rides

When we arrived at a ride we saw a sign that said it was 50 Baht. I am not really sure how this works since we got our park tickets through the school, so maybe you can buy a ticket to enter the park and not get on any rides? Anyhow, we had a special ticket where it had the name of all the rides so when you get on a ride the attendant rips of the piece of that particular ride. I guess you can only go on each ride once (or pay of it). Im not sure, we didn’t try to go on any ride more than once. Note: not all rides cost the same.

If you want a wet ride :)

If you want a wet ride 🙂

Inside the birdhouse

Inside the birdhouse

Sky coaster

Sky coaster

Dream world is not very big. There is one roller coaster, that is not included in the ticket we had which means it costs extra, and its not great. There is no drop, which in my opinion, defeats the purpose or a roller coaster. The other ride the costs extra is tornado. IMG_4814Fortunately, we ran into some Thai teachers who had extra tickets and we all got on the ride. My favorite ride was perhaps one called ‘raptor’. It’s a ride where you sit and everyone straps on the huge circular thing. It spins and goes up and down as obnoxiously loud music blasts through the speakers. It was so much fun. Being at a theme park where the lines to get on a ride weren’t ridiculously long made the trip so much more enjoyable. The Thai heat didn’t even faze me, although I feel I did got about another shade darker. Although the lines were not long, we didn’t even get through half the rides. I guess our 3:30 p.m. was too early, but I still had a lot of fun. Before departing I had some time to visit the section where they have miniature versions of famous landmarks around the world. I go to see the Taj Mahal, Eiffel Tower, leaning tower of Pisa and stonehenge, among other things. I thought it was pretty cool.

IMG_4830

Food and game stalls

Food and game stalls

Inside the 'Giant's house'

Inside the ‘Giant’s house’

On our way back to school, it was more of the same. Two hours of loud music and snacks on the bus ride. All in all, I’d say it was a great day. I think Dream world is perfect if you are visiting Thailand with children. Not overwhelming but a good time for the kids 🙂

DSCN5866

Leave a comment